PHA Awards

Each year the PHA honours an individual's or group's contribution to public health action through our prestigious public health awards, Public Health Champion and Tū Rangatira mō te Ora.

Public Health Champion

The Public Health Champion Award is to recognise and profile the outstanding contribution of an individual to public health.

Working in public health who has focused on the PHA’s priorities in the past year; and/or has made a significant and ongoing contribution to public health over many years.

Nominees may be well known in a local community or be a well-known national public figure. Nominees can be non-members of the PHA, but priority will be given to nominations by members.

This year two Public Health Champions were chosen:

Dame Margaret Sparrow, Sexual health advocate and Grant Berghan, Māori health leader.


Dame Margaret Sparrow

For ‘Unwavering commitment to sexual health and reproductive rights’.

Dame Margaret’s nomination and media release

Grant Berghan

For ‘An unfolding legacy tino rangatiratanga’.

Grant’s nomination and media release

See past Public Health Champions.

Tū Rangatira mō te Ora

The Māori Public Health Tū Rangatira mō te Ora Award is presented annually in recognition, of a person or rōpu who continually demonstrate their commitment and leadership in hauora Māori. Who have worked with/within Māori communities, as well as those who have taken more prominent roles within whānau, hapū and/or iwi, including within marae.

Māori public health ‘stalwart’ Kathrine Clarke has been named the 2017 Māori Public Health Champion, Tū Rangatira mō te Ora.

Kathrine’s nomination and media release

See past Tū Rangatira mō te Ora Award recipients.

Past Award Recipients

 Year  Public Health Champion Tū Rangatira mō te Ora Award Recipient Conference Location 
 2017 Dame Margaret Sparrow and Grant Berghan
Kathrine Clarke
Christchurch (Otautahi)
2016 Catherine Healy and Anna Reed Metira Turei Wellington 
2015 John Raeburn Valerie Teraitua Dunedin
Murray Laugesen Carrie Taipari Auckland
2013 Lance O'Sullivan
The Orakei Kaumatua and Kuia reference group
New Plymouth
2012  Cindy Kiro and Alison Blaiklock
Helen Herbert Wellington
2011 Dallas Honey Te Puawaitanga ki Otautahi Trust Lincoln
2010 Robert Beaglehole and Ruth Bonita
Hon. Tariana Turia
(Inauguration of TRMTO award)

2009 Cheryl Brunton   Dunedin
2008 Marty Rogers
  Te Tai Tokerau
2007 Papaarangi Reid
2006 Philippa Howden-Chapman
  Palmerston North
2005 Ann Shaw
2004 Pauline Barnett
2003 Mason Durie   Ngaruawahia
2002 Louise Croot
2001 Judith Reinken and George Salmond   Auckland
2000 Paratene Ngata
  Palmerston North
1999 Helen Glasgow

The Tū Rangatira mō te Ora Award has been awarded since 2010.

Public Health Association Logo

PHA Conference

Get curious

Get engaged

Get involved

Upcoming events

The PHA – a strong and informed collective voice for a healthy and well New Zealand.

Privacy | Contact

Copyright © Public Health Association of New Zealand 2016

Log in
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software